never assume

I do a lot of assuming during my conversations with people. I have noticed that the better I know someone, the more I can look at their patterns of behavior and reasons of doing things. In a way I am studying how I can most easily avoid being manipulated. In another way I am trying to point out the insecurity or pride that is the stem of what they are saying.

I can’t of course assume these things with everyone but with people I know well- it is almost second nature.

If I assume things about people that are close to me- then my family receives the very brunt of the sin.

I was reading Jesus’ sermon on the mount in the Gospel of Matthew two days ago and I read His words

“Don’t judge, so that you won’t be judged.  You’ll receive the same judgment you give. Whatever you deal out will be dealt out to you. Why do you see the splinter that’s in your brother’s or sister’s eye, but don’t notice the log in your own eye? How can you say to your brother or sister, ‘Let me take the splinter out of your eye,’ when there’s a log in your eye? You deceive yourself! First take the log out of your eye, and then you’ll see clearly to take the splinter out of your brother’s or sister’s eye.”

Ouch. Its funny though, I was so blind to my judging. I am so blind to my judging.

I prayed that morning that the Lord would show me something during the day that would help me understand and apply this passage in a deeper way. I was driving away from work thinking to myself “interesting matthew 7 didn’t come up at all”.

Only later did I realize- it comes up alot. 

Few and far in between are the conversations I have with my immediate family members in which I do not assume reasons of why they are asking the questions that they do, or why they decided to do something.

These assumptions often conclude it is because of their own personal issues of which I can justify my own lack of patience, grace, and kindness.

Jesus has one simple instruction for this spirit of assuming the worst- Don’t.

Luke 6:31 “do unto others as you would have them do unto you”. This should lead us to look, listen, and treat others with the grace that I hope to be given when I speak.

We look to the ultimate Grace Himself as we see ourselves fail in judgement and seek His ever-present help in time of trouble. For as we repent, turning to Jesus’ forgiveness and claiming His death and resurrection as our newfound life- we trust He is able to be work in our weakness. Hallelujah!

 

Leave a Reply

