Paraguay by Prayer

Here is pre-trip update on some exciting changes- my move to Paraguay for 10 months! This post will give some details on what some of my time will entail and how you can pray….thanks for joining in on this adventure!

Have you ever had lyrics of a song ringing in your head for entire months at a time? I have one in particular. It is a verse from Psalm 63 which says Because your steadfast love is better than life, my lips will praise you. So I will bless you as long as I live; in your name I will lift up my hands.” (Psalm 63:3)

His path yields Joy!

God has led me down a path of following Him so that the name of Jesus Christ is proclaimed, exalted, and loved. Throughout and following my undergrad degree studying Spanish and Social Work, I have had an increased conviction and desire to follow the call of God to take the Good News of Jesus Christ to the places where He is not yet worshipped: to know a Love better than life itself. And He has provided!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Maybe it will look something like this? 

Through prayer and by His grace, God has given the opportunity to go to La Colonia de General Cesar in Barrientos, Paraguay for 11 months, come this September.

While I’m there

sim logo

I am going with SIM which is a missions agency that started as Sudan Interior Mission in the late 1800s and has expanded globally.  I am going to Paraguay for the purpose of building relationships with the Paraguayans so that souls will be saved for the glory and praise of God through Jesus Christ. There are no standing evangelical churches (YET!) in this rural part of South America.

paraguay flag

I will be joining in the work that the Cameron family began 7 years ago when they moved to Barrientos, PY from South Africa. Vonni and Greg, along with their three children, are working to love the community around them through volunteering at the junior school which teaches about 100 kids between the ages of 3-15. The Camerons host Bible studies with adults and youth, along with leading youth activities on the weekends and in the summer. A lot of my time there will be focused on relationship building through youth bible studies, camps, and volunteering at the school. I will be leading various activities at the school like art, drama, and sports.  Building these relationships in the community are vital to proclaiming the Good News of Jesus Christ and making disciples that look like Him.

Prayer Support: There are three specific prayer requests that I ask at this stage of preparation.

  1. That the Cameron family would be strengthened in the power of the Holy Spirit to know how to conduct their day-today ministry.
  2. That God would grant me wisdom in teaching at the junior school.
  3. That the host family that I stay with would see the love of Jesus Christ in me as I spend time with them.

I serve a God of miracles who promises to hear us if we ask according to His will (1 John 5:14).  Your prayers are so precious! I believe SIM’s motto by prayer is a great one, because without God hearing and answering prayers I don’t think I would be preparing to go! As you receive this email or letter, please know that I am praying for you as you discern God’s will. If you feel compelled by God to donate you can go use this link https://www.simusa.org/get-involved/give/ using Missionary ID#046848.

May we all grow deeply in the knowledge of His love for us and obey Him as He leads us to love those He has placed around us.

 God is good and His love endures forever.
But we have this treasure in jars of clay, to show that the surpassing power belongs to God and not to us. We are afflicted in every way, but not crushed; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not forsaken; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying in the body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our bodies. For we who live are always being given over to death for Jesus’ sake, so that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh. So death is at work in us, but life in you.

 

In the Grace and Peace of Christ,
Bridget

 

One thought on “Paraguay by Prayer

  1. Our Lord’s Grace is SO evident in your words, Bridge, thank you for allowing Him to encourage others like me, to draw closer to Him and go deeper with Him. I can’t say I’m excited for you to go to Paraguay, only because in my flesh, I so enjoy having you home and the way you brighten a room just by coming into it. But I know He will use you for His purposes there, and I’m excited to hear what He does through you, as you go. Keep the posts coming! He has given you a gift in the way you can tell a story and share His love with words.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

